HDPEA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

Home Depot Assessment Pass Rates: What Is and Is Not Published

TL;DR
  • Home Depot publishes no pass rate, no numeric pass mark and no percentage weightings for its pre-employment assessment.
  • The assessment has 53 questions, no timer, and must be finished within 96 hours of starting.
  • Four content areas are named officially: Professional Experience, Customer Focus, Responsibility and Learning Potential.
  • Customer Focus responses can let you be considered for multiple hourly In-Store and Distribution Center roles.

What Home Depot Actually Publishes

If you searched for a pass rate, you probably want to know one thing: how likely is it that you will clear this step and move forward in the hiring process? That is a reasonable question, and the honest answer starts with a clear boundary between what Home Depot has put in writing and what it has not.

The Home Depot Pre-Employment Assessment is an employer hiring screen for hourly In-Store and Distribution Center roles such as cashier, customer service and sales associate, support associate, freight associate, lot associate and general warehouse associate. It is delivered in-house through the Home Depot careers portal right after the online application. It is free to the candidate. There is no third-party test centre and no proctoring, and you do not need to be in a store to take it.

Home Depot describes the assessment on its own careers site, and that page is the reliable reference for procedure: Home Depot's official online assessment page. The facts it supports include:

  • Length: 53 questions.
  • Style: entirely text-based, with no audio or video players required.
  • Device support: mobile-enabled.
  • Accessibility: compatible with assistive technology including JAWS and NVDA screen readers, with multiple contrast options available.
  • Timing: no per-question or per-session clock, but the assessment must be completed within 96 hours of starting, and you may stop and restart as often as you like inside that window.
  • Typical completion: Home Depot job postings put this at about 17 minutes.
  • Content areas: four named areas, listed below.

That is a lot of concrete procedure. What is missing from the list is just as important, and it is the subject of the next section.

What Home Depot Does Not Publish

Home Depot releases no pass-rate data. It also releases no numeric pass mark and no percentage weightings for the four content areas. There is no published statement such as "X percent of applicants advance" or "you need a score of Y." Anything presented that way should be treated with caution.

The table below separates what is documented from what is not, so you can quickly check any claim you encounter.

TopicPublished by Home Depot?What that means for you
Number of questions (53)YesYou can plan for a fixed-length assessment.
Time limit per question or sessionNo clock existsThere is no timer pressure, only the 96-hour completion window.
Completion window (96 hours)YesYou can stop and restart within that window.
Four content areasYesYou can organize your preparation around them.
Percentage weighting by areaNoNo one outside Home Depot can say which area counts most.
Numeric pass markNoThere is no official number to aim for.
Pass rate or pass-rate dataNoAny specific percentage is unverified.
Certificate, expiry or renewalNone existThis is a hiring step, not a credential.

Why a Single Pass Rate Would Be Misleading

Even if a number were circulating, it would be hard to interpret. A pass rate only makes sense when there is a defined pass mark applied the same way to every candidate. Here, Home Depot has not described a universal pass mark, and the assessment is one input into a hiring decision for a specific role, not a standalone exam with a fixed cutoff.

Consider what a hiring screen has to do. It feeds an employer's selection process for different hourly roles with different needs. A candidate applying to a cashier position and one applying to a freight associate position may be evaluated in the context of different openings. Because Home Depot does not disclose how responses are scored or combined, there is no way to turn the experience of "advancing" or "not advancing" into a clean percentage that applies to everyone.

Results can also be affected by things unrelated to the assessment itself, such as whether a role is open, where and when you applied, and what else is in your application. For a fuller look at how results connect to hiring decisions, see Home Depot Assessment Scores: Results and Hiring Decisions and What Does a Home Depot Assessment Result Mean?.

Hiring screen, not a graded exam: The Home Depot assessment is not a certification and does not produce a certificate, an expiry date or a renewal requirement. Because it is part of an employer's selection process, "passing" is not defined the way it would be for a licensing exam. If you want to understand that distinction, read Is the Home Depot Assessment a Certification?.

How to Spot Invented Pass-Rate Claims

Search results for assessment topics are crowded with confident-sounding numbers. A few habits will help you filter them out.

Check the source behind the number

A trustworthy figure names who measured it and how. If a page quotes a pass rate for the Home Depot assessment but cannot point to Home Depot or another accountable source, treat the number as unverified. Home Depot's own careers page does not contain pass-rate data.

Watch for precision without explanation

Claims like "exactly this percentage pass on the first try" imply a dataset that Home Depot has not released. Very precise numbers with no methodology are a warning sign.

Be wary of borrowed facts

Several unrelated credentials share similar abbreviations or sound like retail assessments. Pass rates, fees and domain weightings from those other programs do not apply here. The Home Depot assessment has no fee for the candidate, no certifying body, and no test centre. If a page mentions exam fees, registration deadlines at a testing site or proctored sessions, it is describing something else. For a clean explanation of naming confusion, see Home Depot Assessment Names and Acronyms Explained.

Confirm the role family

The assessment described here is for hourly In-Store and Distribution Center roles. Salaried and management applicants follow a separate route historically built on the Kenexa-derived Retail Management Assessment, so claims about that route should not be mixed into hourly-role expectations.

The Four Content Areas You Can Verify

Home Depot names four content areas. Because no weightings are published, treat the list as a way to organize your thinking, not as a blueprint that tells you where the points are. The question format is agreement-scale rating of statements plus scenario items, so these areas are about how you describe your approach to work, customers and learning, not about memorized facts.

Professional Experience

Statements and scenarios about your work history and how you handled past situations.

  • Items phrased like "When we ask your most recent manager..." may be answered by reference to a project lead, teacher or instructor if you do not have recent employment.
  • Think about concrete examples from work, school or volunteer settings before you start.

Customer Focus

How you approach helping and working with customers and others.

  • This is the area Home Depot connects to multiple role considerations (see the next section).
  • Consistent, honest answers matter more than guessing a "right" attitude.

Responsibility

How you handle reliability, accountability and following through.

  • Scenario items may ask what you would do in situations involving duties and expectations.
  • Think about how you actually behave, since the same themes can appear in different wording.

Learning Potential

How you approach picking up new tasks, feedback and change.

  • Reflect on times you learned a new process quickly and what helped.
  • Agreement-scale items reward self-awareness more than perfection.

For a role-by-role view of how content can differ between hiring routes, see Home Depot Hiring Assessments: Content and Role Differences.

Why Customer Focus Matters Most for Your Options

The most commercially important detail Home Depot states is about Customer Focus. According to the company, your responses to this area allow you to be considered for multiple In-Store and Distribution Center hourly roles, including Store and MET, without retaking the assessment for each application.

That has a practical effect on how you should think about "passing." Instead of asking whether you cleared a hidden number, it is more useful to recognize that one completed assessment can support several applications. That makes your first attempt worth taking seriously, and it is also a reason to read your role options carefully before applying. If you are deciding which postings fit your background, Home Depot Jobs: Matching Your Application to the Right Role walks through that choice.

Key Takeaway

Because Customer Focus responses can be considered across multiple hourly In-Store and Distribution Center roles, give your answers real thought the first time. Home Depot does not describe a retake path for each application, so there is no reason to treat the first attempt casually.

Format Facts That Replace Guesswork

When a published pass rate is unavailable, the most useful thing you can do is reduce uncertainty about everything that is published. These details are firm.

No clock, but a deadline

There is no per-question or per-session timer. The only time rule is the 96-hour completion window after you start. You may stop and restart as often as you like within that window, and Home Depot job postings put typical completion at about 17 minutes. That means you can choose a quiet moment instead of rushing. For invitation-specific timing questions, see Home Depot Assessment Timing: Invitations, Deadlines and Next Steps.

Text-only and device-flexible

The assessment is entirely text-based, so you do not need audio or video. It is mobile-enabled, and you do not need to be in a store to take it. It is also compatible with JAWS and NVDA screen readers and offers multiple contrast options.

Accommodations

If you believe a disability could affect your performance, you may request an alternative to the assessment by email. Home Depot states that any accommodation granted is not disclosed to hiring managers or treated as part of the selection process. Check the official assessment page for the current contact details rather than relying on a third-party summary.

No prerequisites

There are no education, experience or training prerequisites for the assessment itself. For the broader application checklist, see Home Depot Application Requirements: What to Check Before Applying.

What "no clock" really means: With no timer and a 96-hour window, the practical risk is not running out of minutes but letting the window lapse. If you start, note when the 96 hours end and finish comfortably before then.

What to Do Instead of Chasing a Pass Percentage

Since no one outside Home Depot can tell you a pass probability, the better question is how to present your genuine approach clearly and consistently. A light, assessment-specific plan is enough. This is not a memorization test, so heavy cramming does not apply.

Before

Gather your examples

  • Pick a few real situations from work, school or volunteering for Professional Experience items.
  • If you have no recent employer, decide who you would reference: a project lead, teacher or instructor.
Next

Reflect on Customer Focus and Responsibility

  • Recall times you helped someone or followed through under pressure.
  • Prioritize these two areas because Customer Focus carries the multi-role consideration and Responsibility scenarios reward honest, consistent reasoning.
Then

Review Learning Potential and take the assessment

  • Think about how you handle new tasks and feedback.
  • Choose a quiet time, and finish well inside the 96-hour window.

If you want a structured walkthrough, Home Depot Assessment Preparation: A Practical Applicant Guide covers the approach in more depth, and Home Depot Assessment Review Sheet: Key Preparation Points condenses the main points. If you want to gauge the experience of agreement-scale and scenario questions, you can try the practice material on the main practice test site. Whether optional preparation is worth your time is a personal call, and Is Home Depot Assessment Preparation Worth Your Time? helps you weigh it. Since the assessment itself is free, you can also read Home Depot Assessment Costs and Optional Preparation to see what, if anything, you might choose to spend on preparation.

Remember that practice material can only help you get comfortable with the format and your own examples. It cannot reveal a score threshold, because Home Depot does not publish one. For a sense of difficulty from a candidate's perspective, How Hard Is the Home Depot Assessment? offers a grounded view, and you can explore more practice options at the HDPEA Exam Prep home page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Home Depot publish a pass rate for its pre-employment assessment?

No. Home Depot releases no pass-rate data, no numeric pass mark and no percentage weightings for the four content areas. Its careers page describes the format and procedure but not outcomes. Any specific pass-rate figure you see elsewhere should be treated as unverified unless it clearly cites Home Depot.

Is there a minimum score I need to reach?

Home Depot does not publish a numeric pass mark, and the assessment is part of an employer's hiring process rather than a certification exam with a fixed cutoff. Because no universal threshold is described, no one outside Home Depot can accurately tell you a target score. Our article on Home Depot assessment scores and hiring decisions explains how to think about results.

How long do I have to finish, and is there a timer?

There is no per-question or per-session clock. You must complete the assessment within 96 hours of starting, and you may stop and restart as often as you like inside that window. Home Depot job postings put typical completion at about 17 minutes.

Can one assessment cover several job applications?

According to Home Depot, responses to the Customer Focus area allow you to be considered for multiple In-Store and Distribution Center hourly roles, including Store and MET, without retaking the assessment for each application. Check the official page for current wording.

Do I get a certificate, and does the result expire?

No. The assessment is a hiring step, not a certification, so there is no certificate, no expiry and no renewal requirement. For the distinction between a hiring screen and a credential, see Home Depot Assessment Credentials: Hiring Screen vs Certification.

Ready to pass your HDPEA exam?

Put this into practice with free HDPEA questions across every exam domain.